What Florida Cruise Ports Charge to Park in 2026 — and the Two That Won't Tell You
Parking is the one cruise cost that is entirely yours. The fare is the line's, the port taxes are the government's, the gratuities are set by the ship — but where you leave the car for a week is a decision you make, and it is the part of a drive-to-port cruise most likely to be guessed at rather than looked up.
So we went and looked it up, at all six Florida cruise ports, on the same day. Four of them publish a daily rate on their own website. Two of them do not — and that turned out to be the more interesting finding, because a port that will not tell you what parking costs until you have started a booking is making a choice, and it is not a choice in your favour.
Every figure below was read off the port authority's own page on 3 September 2026. Where a port publishes nothing, this article says so instead of quoting a number from a parking reseller, because a reseller's off-site lot is a different product at a different address.
What the four publishing ports charge
| Port | Standard vehicle | Oversized | Tax | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAXPORT (Jacksonville) | $17 / day | $34 / day | Included | Cheapest published rate in the state, and cheaper still than it looks because tax is already in it. Bundles at $68 for a 4-day cruise, $85 for a 5-day. |
| Port Canaveral | $20 / day | $20 — RVs pay the same | Plus tax | The only port that states outright that the rate covers the day of arrival and the day of departure. Pay on arrival. |
| Port Everglades (Fort Lauderdale) | $20 / day maximum | $25 / day maximum | Not stated | Same price in Heron Garage, Palm Garage and Lots A, B and C. The daily clock starts when you pull the ticket, not at a fixed hour. |
| PortMiami | $25 / day long-term (Garages C, D, F, G + Lot E) $35 / day Garage AA and Garage B | $25 per space in Lot E; $50 if it takes two | Not stated | Your rate depends on which garage your cruise line uses. Garage B (Norwegian) is $35, effective 1 Jan 2025. Garage A (Royal Caribbean) and Garage J publish no rate. |
Cruises are sold in nights. Parking is not billed in nights.
These are not the same number, and only one Florida port tells you how it counts.
Port Canaveral puts it in writing: the rate covers the day of arrival and the day of departure. Drive in on a Sunday and out the following Sunday and that is eight parking days for a seven-night cruise — $160 before tax, since Port Canaveral quotes its $20 plus tax.
JAXPORT prices by cruise-day count rather than by night: $68 for a 4-day cruise and $85 for a 5-day are exactly four and five days at $17, tax included.
The other two do not say. Port Everglades states only that the daily rate begins when you pull the ticket — a rolling 24-hour period, not a calendar day, so what you owe depends on your actual hours rather than on your number of nights. PortMiami's parking page does not address it at all. We are not going to tell you those ports charge an extra day, because neither page says so and we have not stood at the barrier with a stopwatch.
The safe planning assumption is the one Port Canaveral states outright: budget a day more than you have nights, and treat anything less as a pleasant surprise. Ask at the barrier if the difference matters to you — at PortMiami's $25 a day, one extra day is $25.
Why the headline rates are not comparable
JAXPORT charges $17 including Florida sales tax. Port Canaveral charges $20 plus tax. Port Everglades and PortMiami say neither way on their parking pages.
So the sticker gap between the cheapest and the dearest is not the real gap — it is wider. This is the same pattern the rest of this series keeps running into: the number a provider chooses to display is not the number you pay, and the difference is never in your favour by accident. It is worth reading the four words after the figure.
The PortMiami problem: your rate is chosen for you
PortMiami is the only Florida port where the parking rate is not really a decision you make. Garages C, D, F and G and Surface Lot E are $25 a day for long-term parking. Garage AA is $35. Garage B, which Norwegian uses, is $35 per vehicle per space per day, effective 1 January 2025. Garage A, which Royal Caribbean uses, and Garage J publish no rate on the port's parking page at all.
Which means a single "PortMiami parking is $X" figure — the kind that appears in most cruise guides — is wrong for whichever half of the passengers land in the other garage. If you are sailing from Miami, the useful question is not what the port charges. It is which garage does my line use, and that is worth asking before you assume $25.
One more PortMiami detail worth knowing: the same garages have a $10 short-term rate. It does not apply to you. Short-term is explicitly not overnight, so it is a drop-off rate, not a cruise rate.
Port Everglades: $25 is not a range, it is a different vehicle
Port Everglades is often quoted as "$20 to $25 a day", which reads as though the price might land anywhere in between depending on the day or the garage. It does not. $20 is the daily maximum for a standard vehicle and $25 is the daily maximum for an oversized one. A family car pays $20, in every garage and every lot, every time.
The definition of oversized is worth checking against your actual vehicle rather than your sense of it — JAXPORT, for instance, defines oversized as anything taking up more than one standard space, which catches a lot of trucks with trailers that their owners would not describe as oversized. At JAXPORT the penalty for guessing wrong is the difference between $17 and $34 a day.
The two that will not tell you
Port Tampa Bay publishes no daily parking rate. Its cruise parking page promotes "affordable value" and a pre-pay option, and the only figure on it is a $20 valet upgrade — an upgrade over a base price the page never states. To find out what parking costs, you have to enter the booking system, which means you learn the price at the point where you are already committing.
The Port of Palm Beach's parking pages could not be retrieved at all when we checked on 3 September 2026. Private operators do advertise cheap parking near that port, but those are off-site lots — a different product, at a different address, with a shuttle in between. They are not the port's own parking, we have not verified their rates, and we will not present them as though they were the port's.
We would rather leave two cells of this table visibly empty than fill them with a number we cannot stand behind. If either port publishes a rate later, it will appear in the Travel Fee Index with the date we found it.
What to actually do with this
- Budget days, not nights. Port Canaveral states its rate covers both the arrival and departure day, making a seven-night cruise eight parking days. Everglades and PortMiami do not publish how they count, so plan for the extra day and confirm at the barrier.
- At Miami, ask which garage your line uses before you assume the rate. The difference is $10 every single day — $70 over a seven-day stay, $80 over eight — and it is decided by your cruise line, not by you.
- Check the oversized definition against your vehicle, not your intuition. "More than one standard space" is a lower bar than most people expect, and at JAXPORT it doubles the rate.
- Read the four words after the price. "Plus tax" and "tax included" are a real difference on an eight-day stay, and only two of the four ports say which one they mean.
- At Tampa and Palm Beach, get the number in writing before you drive. A port that will not publish a rate is not obliged to give you a good one.
Where these numbers live
Every rate in this article is stored with the page it came from and the date we read it, and re-checked on a schedule — because a parking tariff that quietly drifts is exactly the kind of number people keep quoting years after it changed. You can see the current set, with source links and verification dates, on the Travel Fee Index. To see what parking adds to a specific trip alongside the fares, taxes and gratuities, the trip cost calculator runs the whole thing against a real itinerary.
Or skip it and tell us about the trip. We will price it properly, parking included, and tell you which port actually works out cheaper once the drive is in the maths. Cruise lines pay us as the booking channel, so the planning costs you nothing.
